Home > Experiences and Thoughts, Islam > Being Allah’s slave: What does it mean?

Being Allah’s slave: What does it mean?

Assalamualaikum.

In the name of Allah, Most Gracious and Most Merciful.

In Him Whom Owns My Life, all praises are for Him.

It’s been a while since I have written in my blog. It’s been a tiring journey so far but it’s not over yet.

I apologise for not putting my Cairns photos yet. SubhanAllah, how Perfect is Him. His creations are just magnificent. InsyaAllah, I will put it in here and hope my friends could spend the time to visit the places.

This time around, I’ll talk a bit on being Allah’s servant. We have always said we want to be Allah’s slave. Our life is only for Allah. But what have we done for Him? Have we fulfilled His commands? I admit I am not the best person to talk about it. I am far from it, astaghfirulLah. But I wish to remind myself, especially and my dear beloved friends on the requirements of us being a Muslim.

Let us first remember the reason why we are here in this world:

“And I (Allah) created not the jinn and mankind except they should worship Me (alone) (51:56).”

This is the command Allah has put us through. Worship Him and only Him. Not money and not power. Sometimes we only think that worship Him is only by doing salaah (prayers) 5 times a day, fasting during the month of Ramadhan, performing Hajj (pilgrimage) and Zakaah (obligatory charity). Is that it? Is that all we need to do? InsyaAllah that shouldn’t be too hard.

But wait a minute, I have an interesting story to tell. I once spoke to a believer of God after seeing me performing the salaah. He’s not a Christian anymore since he doesn’t believe in performing specific acts of worships. He said “Why should you limit yourself in only worshipping (remembering) God at only some times of the day?” It got me thinking of an answer. The answer is, in fact, every act that we do is an act of worship (ibadah) as long as we remember Allah in doing it, insyaAllah. Have we done this yet?

If we look at the average human life which is maybe 60 years, what is the ratio of our Ibadah to our life if we only include salaah, fasting, Hajj and Zakaah? A very small ratio indeed. What about the rest of our life? Let us all try to remember Allah every second of our life and make niat (intention) to do everything for Allah. InsyaAllah, we will not stray away from the straight path as in the doa (supplication) we ask from Allah every single day:

“Guide us to the Straight Way (1: 6)”

I shall stop here first. I shall talk about another command Allah has for us next time around, insyaAllah. I apologise for my weaknesses in conveying the message. All good comes from Allah alone and the weaknesses are from me. Allahualam. Wassalamualaikum.

  1. Nur Fiza
    12/08/2009 at 6:59 PM

    Assalamualaikum Ahmad Nasri.

    I bumped into your blog while surfing about australia. Very interesting. Most probably some time next year, my husband and I may visit Sydney for a 2-week vacation. Can you give me any recommendations on places,things to do, place to stay,where to eat in sydney.

    Hope to hear from you soon thank you.

    • ahmadnasri
      01/11/2010 at 2:19 AM

      Waalaikumsalam,

      I apologise for my late reply. I was busy handling my affairs in returning to Malaysia. Recommendations?

      Places: Harbour Bridge and Opera House (Icons of Australia). Go to The Rocks for the best view of both icons. Darling Harbour is also great. Then head to Bondi Beach, a nice beach nonetheless but not as good as Surfers Paradise.

      Places to stay: depends on your budget. The cheapest is staying at Malaysia Hall. You could take a look at http://www.wotif.com for cheap accommodations if booked early.

      Eat: Should not be a problem, a lot of halal food over in Sydney. Just ask. Oporto (fast food outlet) is Halal. Please take a look at http://www.msda.org.au/ for more information.

      Hope that helps. I don’t live in Sydney. So I am not that knowledgeable. I am basing on my previous experiences.

  2. 12/31/2009 at 10:18 PM

    Atok.. bila mau balik??

  3. Sofia Ismail
    05/28/2010 at 9:30 PM

    The black cat demands an update!
    (Well unless life as an engineer is not worth living anymore…)

  4. 09/23/2012 at 10:34 PM

    Boss, tokse update ko? Ignore me pls, I saw the link to here when I visited an old page.

  5. 04/25/2013 at 8:07 AM

    If you wish for to improve your experience simply
    keep visiting this web site and be updated with the newest news update posted here.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

